« Attic Pleasantries | ‘Lost Articles’ | The Latin Tongue »

The Mother Tongues

SCALIGER observes, there are four Mother, or radical, Tongues in Europe. Theos, the Greek; Deus, the Latin, the French, the Italian, and the Spanish. Got, the Danish, the English, the German, the Dutch, and the Flemish. Goii, the Sclavonian. There are six lesser or inferior languages, independent of the above four. The Bask, the low Breton, the Hungarian, the Irish, the Swedish, and the Tartarian. The Welch language must also be distinguished; though it bears so great an affinity to the low Breton, that, it is said, these nations understand each other with little difficulty. The Irish and the Danes once spoke the same language. The Bask is the ancient Spanish, as the Cantabrians spoke it in the time of the Romans.